The United Nations

Who, what, where, and when
Rahman Mohamed

World War 1 was one of the most devastating wars in human history.  But it brought about the League of Nations.  World War 2 saw its collapse. In 1945, after WW2, the League of Nations was reformed, in a restructured version as the United Nations.

The UN is ruled by a Charter. It was signed by 51 countries including Canada, Afghanistan, Australia, India, South Africa, China, France, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

Today UN is made of 193 nations. The UN is also made up of principal organs – the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council, the International Court of Justice and a Secretariat, and the Security Council.

The UN’s “capitals” are in Geneva, New York and Vienna.

Recently the UN has been speaking about World Oceans Day (June 10), the outcome of a global hunger summit, peace talks in Africa’s Great Lakes region, and science’s contribution to addressing climate change.

On June 21 Noeleen Heyzer, Executive Secretary of the UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) said “Health is the single most important enabler of development”, stressing that to build sustainable regions we must prioritize preventing “pollution of our air, our water, our food, and other common regional goods”

It’s also been focusing on Iraq and Mali.


Share your thoughts.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s